A Spiritual Concert in Lübeck

Cantatas and sonatas in Northern Germany at the time of Tunder & Buxtehude

A programme of cantatas and sonatas for a small ensemble, as was common practice in Northern Germany at the time of Tunder & Buxtehude. This programme also highlights the astonishing sonatas by J. A. Reinken, the great organist in Hamburg and master of the stylus fantasticus.

  • Maïlys de Villoutreys, soprano
  • Stéphan Dudermel & Fiona-Emilie Poupard, violins
  • Florence Bolton, viola da gamba
  • Benjamin Perrot, theorbo
  • Carsten Lohff, harpsichord
  • Sébastien Wonner, organ

Maïlys de Villoutreys, soprano by Robin Davies

The disc

February 2020 by Mirare | distribution Harmonia Mundi/PIAS

« This recording is a welcome addition to an under-explored repertory given its due in a beautiful performance. »
Robert A. Green, Viola da gamba society of America, march 2020

« The interpretations of this mix of instrumental and vocal works is delightful. »
Remy Franck, Pizzicato, march 2020